Online Journalism

12 Sep

The work that we’ve done with coding has certainly been the most helpful to me in this class. I was not completely ignorant about every term on the quiz we took on our first day, but I knew less than half of them, and the ones I did know I only knew by name and had no in-depth knowledge of them. I doubt that I’ll ever be in a position where I have to know how to write code, but I guess it’s best to be prepared in case the job market takes me somewhere I don’t anticipate being. Either way, one of the reasons I took this class was to become less technologically challenged, and I feel like I will be able to achieve that goal. The hands-on tutorial for HTML was very helpful as I am a visual learner. I also found a really good blog during our blog subscription project. Poynter has interesting content, but my favorite part is that it lists current journalism jobs. I know it’s too soon for me to be actually applying to any of them, but it’s nice to see what’s available and what employers are looking for. I already have a fair amount of experience with WordPress, what with my summer in DC and The Cluster, so working with WordPress is easy, but I always enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

